Dept of Health & Human Services (DHHS)

DHHS Home Page     Contact Us      Discrimination Statement

Medical Assistance (MA)

The Medical Assistance program pays for medical services for people who meet the program’s requirements for financial eligibility. Wisconsin's Medical Assistance program is called Medicaid, or simply MA.

Part of the Social Security system, the Medicaid program makes sure that appropriate medical care is available to people with disabilities, to people who are 65 years of age and older, to children (and their caretakers), and to pregnant women.

Some services Medicaid provides for are:

  • Doctor visits, including prenatal care
  • Well-child and HealthCheck visits, including immunizations (shots)
  • Hospital care
  • Vision care, including eye glasses
  • Prescription drugs
  • Family planning services and supplies
  • Occupational, physical and speech therapy
  • Medical equipment
  • Hearing services, including hearing aids
  • Laboratory and x-ray services
  • Dental services
  • Transportation to Medicaid services
  • Home health care services.

This is not a complete list of Medicaid services.

For more information about Wisconsin's Medicaid program and eligibility requirements, call 888-436-1239 or TTY 711 . Or click on the link below to link to Wisconsin's Medicaid website.

State Website



Crisis Services

Aging and Disability Resource Center (ADRC)

Mental Health Services

Alcohol/Drug Issues

Mental Health Recovery Services

Child/Family Services

Child Support

Public Health

Economic Support

Developmental Disabilities

Trauma Informed Care

Volunteer Services

Adobe Acrobat Reader

Document names followed by this symbol are viewed using Acrobat Reader. For a free download of Acrobat Reader click the icon above.


Acceptable Use Policy     Privacy Policy

100 W Walworth, Elkhorn, WI 53121
© 2010 Walworth County Government.